Meet the staff

 

Individual staff members may be contacted via e-mail, click on section below to show staff contact details.

Tēnā koutou e te whānau,

Nau mai, haere mai ki Te Kura Takiwa o Taipā – a place where manaakitanga, painga, and mahitahi thrive. As the proud Principal of this unique learning community, I am privileged to welcome you to our website, offering a glimpse into the heart of Taipā Area School.

At the core of our school are the values that guide us – manaakitanga, the spirit of hospitality and respect; painga, the positive sharing with our community; and mahitahi, the power of teamwork and unity. These values are woven into the kete of our daily relations, shaping the character of our school and fostering a positive learning environment.

Taipā Area School is not just any school. It is a close-knit community, a whānau, that is on a journey of embracing the rich history of our whakapapa and iwi Ngati Kahu. Our students, who range in age from 5 to 18, are on a collective journey of growth and discovery, guided by the wisdom of our tupuna.

Taipā Area School is committed to providing an unwavering education experience. Our students engage in learning that transcends traditional boundaries, creating a continuum from early childhood to young adulthood. The unique structure of an area school fosters relationships that span age groups, creating a sense of belonging and interconnectedness that is fundamental to our identity. We strive to ensure that our students feel a strong sense of safety and belonging, which is essential to their growth and development.

Our strategic plan for 2023-25 embodies the vision of ‘Kia ngatahi te hoe, kia whakatere te waka ki uta’ which means ‘Navigate together for success’. This vision highlights our commitment to unity, collaboration, and shared goals. Our four visionary principles – safety, belonging, achievement, and engagement in learning – act as the compass that guides our journey, ensuring each student’s education is meaningful, individualised, and purposeful.

I invite you to explore our website, discover the whānau feel that is Taipā Area School, and join us in nurturing the potential of every learner. Together, let us continue to paddle forward, guided by our values, empowered by our whakapapa, and united in our commitment to excellence.

Ngā mihi nui 
 
David Lowe
Principal
 
David LowePrincipaldavidl@taipa.school.nz
Shelly DormerDeputy Principalshellyd@taipa.school.nz
Jennifer Edwards Deputy PrincipalJenniferE@taipa.school.nz
Christian McDonaldDeputy Principalchristianm@taipa.school.nz
Viv Van der SluisSENCO/SLTvivf@taipa.school.nz
Viv Van der SluisTaitamarikivivf@taipa.school.nz
Fiona MacgregorTaitokeraufionam@taipa.school.nz
Gerlinde AndraschkoTai Kōrerogerlindea@taipa.school.nz
Mark DryburghTai Tirohiamarkd@taipa.school.nz
Christian McDonaldTai Auahachristianm@taipa.school.nz
Braeden CarruthersTai Hauorabraedenc@taipa.school.nz
Rhonda DonaldsonYear 11-13 Deanrhondad@taipa.school.nz

Joanne Mutu

Merwan Ghadiali

Co-Year 9-10 Deans

joannem@taipa.chool.nz

merwang@taipa.school.nz

Fiona MacgregorYear 7-8 Deanfionam@taipa.school.nz
Angie JonesGuidance Counsellor (Mon, Tue, Thur, Fri)angiej@taipa.school.nz
Tu AndersonGuidance Counsellor (Mon)tua@taipa.school.nz
Sonja HollowayGuidance Counsellor (Wed, Thur)sonjah@taipa.school.nz
Latoya GrahamManaakitangalatoyag@taipa.school.nz
Jaimee-lee TitoPaingajaimeelt@taipa.school.nz
Braeden CarruthersMahitahibraedenc@taipa.school.nz
NameTeaching responsibilitiesEmail
Andraschko, GerlindeSocial Science (Psychology, History, Classical and Legal Studies), World Languages & Englishgerlindea@taipa.school.nz
Atkinson, JulienVisual Art & Design juliena@taipa.school.nz
Carruthers, BraedenPhysical Education & Healthbraedenc@taipa.school.nz
Collier, MitchellAra Whakamaua Teacher 
Rutene, WhetuTrades Academywhetur@taipa.school.nz
Darlington, RachaelIntermediate Year 7 & 8rachaeld@taipa.school.nz
Donaldson, RhondaY10 – 11 English & Health, Work Ready Y12 & 13rhondad@taipa.school.nz
Dryburgh, MarkSenior Maths & Physicsmarkd@taipa.school.nz
Dryburgh, NeldieY10 Science, Senior Physics & Chemistryneldied@taipa.school.nz
Edwards, Jennifery10 Science & Y11 Commercejennifere@taipa.school.nz
Ghadali, MerwanFood/ Hospitality Teachermerwang@taipa.school.nz
Graham, LatoyaY10 Reo, 9 Music & Senior Te Ao Māorilatoyag@taipa.school.nz
Johnson, Amy Y10 Homeroom, Y7, 8 & 9 Ho0spitalityamyj@taipa.school.nz
Jones, AngieSchool Counselor  angiej@taipa.school.nz
Kee, MeilliaY9 Homeroom, Enviro School leader & Senior Commercemeilliak@taipa.school.nz
Lane, OliviaLearning Support teacher (ORRS)Olivial@taipa.school.nz
Lane, ReubenPhysical Education & Healthreubenl@taipa.school.nz
Lineberry, TracySenior English, Y10 Englishtracyl@taipa.school.nz
Marsters-Moses, TiarePrimary Leader of Learning & Y5 & 6 Teachertiarem@taipa.school.nz
McCloy, AaronJunior Science, Adventure Tourism & Horticultureaaronm@taipa.school.nz
McDonald, ChristianSenior Music Teacherchristianm@taipa.school.nz
Moran, JessieYear 9 Homeroomjessiem@taipa.school.nz
Mutu, JoanneY9 & 10 Dean, Y9 & 10 MathematicsJoanneM@taipa.school.nz
Pirini, JonathanY7 & 8 Waiatajonathanp@taipa.school.nz
Popata, HaareY9 Homeroomhaarep@taipa.school.nz
Rogers, Tyroney9 & 10 P.E/ Healthtyroner@taipa.school.nz
Rose, CynthiaPrimary Y4 & 5 Cynthiar@taipa.school.nz
Rupapera,TracyPrimary Year 1 – 6 Taipuna & Rumaki Reo, Ngaruititracyr@taipa.school.nz
Rutene, WhetuSenior Trades & Mechanicswhetur@taipa.school.nz
Ryken, MikeHard Materials Technology, Woodwork & Designmiker@taipa.school.nz
Sharp, KathrynPrimary Year 1 & 2kathryns@taipa.school.nz
Small, FayeY10 Mathfayes@taipa.school.nz
Tito, JaimeeIntermediate School Year 7 & 8jaimeelt@taipa.school.nz
Walsh, DwayneScience & Biologydwaynew@taipa.school.nz
Wynyard, RaumatiPrimary Year 3 & 4raumatiw@taipa.school.nz
Van der Sluis, VivSENCO/ SLT & Literacy Teamvivf@taipa.school.nz
NameArea of ResponsibilityEmail
Baker, LisaFinance Manager
Administration
lisab@taipa.school.nz
Cookson, RoseTeacher Aide

rosec@taipa.school.nz

Culley, AlanCaretakeralanc@taipa.school.nz
Cvitanovich, RoxanneTeacher Aideroxannec@taipa.school.nz
Dormer, ShaneSupport Staffshaned@taipa.school.nz
Harrison, GenieAdministration Front Officegenieh@taipa.school.nz
Hudson, CarolLibrary Managercarolh@taipa.school.nz
Irwin, RoseTeacher Aiderosei@taipa.school.nz
Graham, LatoyaTe Ao Māori/ Musiclatoyag@taipa.school.nz
Greaves, AngeliqueTeacher Aideangeliqueg@taipa.school.nz
Greaves, SueTeacher Aidesueg@taipa.school.nz
Limbrick, GlenysAdministrationglenysl@taipa.school.nz
Mitchell, AleeshaAdministrationaleesham@taipa.school.nz
Moran, EllenTeacher Aideellenm@taipa.school.nz
Parsons, AmandaTeacher Aideamandap@taipa.school.nz
Petersen, MiriamTeacher Aidemiriamp@taipa.school.nz
Pivac, DarrinSports Coordinatordarrinp@taipa.school.nz
Pomare, PeggyTeacher Aidepeggyp@taipa.school.nz
Popata, DotTeacher Aidedorothyp@taipa.school.nz
Simeon, KylieNgaruiti kylies@taipa.school.nz
Smith, ZinniaPrincipals Secretaryzinnias@taipa.school.nz
Stevens, KimTeacher Aidekims@taipa.school.nz
Sparksman, JulieCareers Support/Gatewayjulies@taipa.school.nz
Rameka, CherieTeacher Aidesuer@taipa.school.nz
Rogers, TyroneTraining Teacher/ P.Etyroner@taipa.school.nz
Rutene, WhetuTraining Teacher/ Tradeswhetur@taipa.school.nz
Winter, AmandaTeacher Aideamandaw@taipa.school.nz
Woolford, StewartPool Caretaker & Cleanerstewartw@taipa.school.nz
Woolford, TyroneCleanertyronew@taipa.school.nz
Szentesi, KyleCleanerkyles@taipa.school.nz